top of page

As Yet Untitled


As yet untitled

As I come to write the last in the series surrounding the period of uncertainty which follows leaving the comfort of home, school or in my case university, I thought I should recap the eventful year of 2016. This is very unlike me as I have for a while come to see New Year as just another day. Yes a mile stone and one that we should be thankful to have reached, but another day none the less.

As I sit and write this I am dreading the next few hours ahead. When you work behind a bar on New Year’s Eve you know there is only one other place you’d rather be… the other side. But looking back on what many consider to have been a terrible year, originally including myself, I can’t help but think that it could have been a whole lot worse. Personally speaking, I graduated from university with an Honours Degree something that I never thought I would achieve, I made a second move south to come live with my boyfriend, I started a new job and made new friends. Yes 2016 has thrown out the worst, with many losing family and friends, TV, film and music legends as well as throwing the world that we know into so much uncertainty and destruction but good has also found its way to. There has been a major breakthrough with an Ebola vaccine, Giant Pandas are no longer endangered and there have been significant advances in renewable energies.

I began 2016 with so much anxiety, following stress with my final exams and dissertation and the unknown journey which lay ahead but I was determined to make it memorable. My move south which I ultimately thought wasn’t to be, has turned out to have been the best thing I could have done. It opened doors for me. Never had I thought that I would have been a member of the Press team at Horse of The Year, nor did I think I would have made it through to the interview but shortlisted for a potential internship In New York City. But perhaps my best highlight among so many others was writing this series. For the first time my writing had caused emotion among people. Never before had I had so many people message me or contact me telling me how much it had helped having someone bring up a subject that is so rarely talked about, knowing they weren’t alone.

I understand for so many 2016 was a year of devastation and turmoil but for others it was a year of progression and triumph. For now 2017 is yet untitled and I hope my series on life after education has helped a few people feel a little less lost and a little more confident about their journey ahead. I have thoroughly enjoyed writing it and I hope I can do more in the future.

Happy New Year to all… and if you see me behind the bar, mines a vodka lemonade.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page