top of page

The Phantom and I

The Phantom and I

I had my first encounter with the Phantom when I was about nine. We had borrowed a number of DVDs from a friend and after hearing about the film from my grandparents I thought it would be one that I liked. In those days-yes I know it was only 11 years ago- we had a TV; one of those that you had just jump in front of when the picture started to bounce and became distorted. Sadly I only made it to the roof scene where “Love Me” is sung between the two love struck characters, Christine and Raoul, before my TV cut out, and no amount of jumping was going to save it. It didn’t matter though from then on I was hooked. Years went by and the two of us lived in limbo with each other, dipping in now and then. Sometimes when I needed “artistic help” I would watch the film or listen to the score, something I did many times during my advanced higher art project.

Ever since I was little the arts have fascinated me and there is something about Andrew Lloyd Webber and Charles Harts phantom that I find truly mesmerising. Based on the French novel Le Fantome de l’Opera by Gaton Leroux, its central plot follows that of a beautiful soprano, Christine Daae who becomes the obsession of the phantom, a mysterious disfigured musical virtuoso.

I finally got my wish in May this year when my lovely boyfriend took me to see my phantom. I was finally going to get to see him, in the flesh for the first time. Similar to that of the phantom and Christines relationship I felt he was there with me, hearing him at certain points (this was depicted through YouTube, Ipod and the film) but still he was there.

The night finally arrived to watch the production in London and I couldn’t wait. Taking our seats the stage shed just enough light to light up the famous chandelier, lying in ruins in centre stage. After about fifteen minutes Her Majesties Theatre Haymarket fell silent and the quiet eerie opera house setting filled with cast members. The auction which opens the musical sent shivers into the crowd and it wasn’t long before the whole theatre was filled with the haunting organ that opens the overture and the chandelier was lifted high above the crowd. The Phantom of the Opera was there.

The talent among the cast members and particularly that of the Phantom was phenomenal and kept me on the edge of my seat and with constant shivers throughout the whole production. From the unnerving organ that plagues the performance to the soft powerful voice of Christine Daae, there are no words that can describe how incredible the whole things was. I left the theatre that night speechless and with tears in my eyes. As dramatic as that sounds, and yes I can be very dramatic (probably why I like the arts) at the end of the performance I found myself crying, something I didn’t mean to do.

The sheer beauty and talent that night was an experience that I will remember for a long time to come and would recommend it to anyone who loves the theatre, and even those that don’t, my dad being a particular fan. I feel the phantom touches everyone who sees it. Recently seeing clips from a school back home where the students came together to put on a great, moving performance of the classic, it’s easy to see how many people are affected and appreciate the Phantom of the Opera and the Music of the Night.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page